Annoucing the winners of the first AFC Awards

During the Awards ceremony for the first-ever AFC Awards, recognizing excellence in cinematography, which took place on Wednesday 7 February 2024, as part of the 24th annual Micro Salon, the Awards winners were revealed by four personalities from the cinema.

At the ceremony introduced by Jean-Marie Dreujou, AFC Co-President, and hosted by Dominique Maillet, the following personalities opened the envelopes containing the names of the winners: actress, director and screenwriter Nicole Garcia; actor, director, producer and screenwriter Alexandre Astier; italian cinematographer Daria D’Antonio; and director Cédric Klapisch.

Jean-Marie Dreujou and Dominique Maillet
Photo by Katarzyna Średnicka

The winners

Best Cinematography for a Feature Film
Yves Cape, AFC, for Sundown by Michel Franco

Yves Cape and Nicole Garcia
Photo by Katarzyna Średnicka

Best cinematography for a series (episode, pilot or mini-series)
Denis Lenoir, AFC, ASC, ASK and Yorick Le Saux for “Irma Vep” (S.1, Ep.7 The Spectre)

Denis Lenoir and Alexandre Astier
Photo by Katarzyna Średnicka

Best Cinematography for a documentary
Paul Guilhaume, AFC, for Paradis, by Alexander Abaturov

Paul Guilhaume and Daria D’Antonio
Photo by Katarzyna Średnicka

Best Cinematogarphy for a first or second feature fiction film by a cinematographer residing in France
Benoît Jaoul, for Chien de la casse, by Jean-Baptiste Durand

Benoît Jaoul and Cédric Klapisch
Photo by Katarzyna Średnicka
The Trophy of the AFC Awards sculpted by Myriam Chataignere
Photo by Katarzyna Średnicka
The winners and nominees alongside the invited personalities
Photo by Maxime Turpault

We would like to thanks our Associate Members and all the participates.